What Happens When you Block Someone on Facebook

Is someone stalking you? Is an ex pestering the life out of you? Are friends of friends trying to be too nosy? Nowadays, these problems do not only relate to real life, but social media too.
Facebook is a fine line between staying connected to those you want to, and revealing too much information (TMI) to others.

In today's world, people are more connected through Facebook than any other way. The network of friends only seems to increase day by day. The flip side of this is, people you don't even know, or the unwanted ones, are getting to see all your activities and pictures online. So what can you do? Block them of course, since you wouldn't want to curtail your fun time online because of these pesky individuals, right!

Blocking Someone on Facebook

How to Do It
There are three simple ways in which to block an individual on Facebook:
  1. You can block someone by going to the 'Block List' on the 'Privacy Settings' page, and enter the name or email address of the person you wish to block.
  2. Or you even can visit their profile and click on the tab 'Report/Block this person' present on their profile page (timeline).
  3. The third way to block someone is through the 'Report' link that is located next to his/her messages in the Inbox. The person you block will not be notified after you block them.
What Happens
When you block someone, it means you are preventing that specific person from viewing your profile or timeline. They will no longer be seen on your friends list, and your profile will no longer be visible to them. Any connection you have with them, like friend details, friendship connections, etc, won't exist any longer. Once you block someone, the blocking part becomes mutual. This means that not only the specific person you have blocked, but even you will no longer will be able to see their profile (timeline). You should however remember that the person can interact with you through third-party applications like games. They will not be intimated in any way about you blocking them. However, when they search for your profile, they will get an idea that you have blocked them.

If you and the person you blocked share mutual friends, they will no longer be able to see the Wall posts and comments on that Walls of mutual friend, or groups both of you share. Blocking will prevent the person from finding you in searches, view your profile (timeline), and even prevent them from contacting you with pokes or personal messages. However, in some instances, if the person is able to see your posts on a mutual friend's Wall, all they will see is your post, and not your name or profile picture.

The specific person you blocked may have sent you some messages, Wall posts or comments before you blocked them. This content will remain posted on your profile and other site areas. However, their profile picture will remain invisible, and instead, a question mark will be displayed. Messages sent to you before the blocking will be there, and if the person was included in a group conversation, you will be able to see it. However, you will not be able to click on their profile link, and vice versa. If you wish, you can either delete the entire conversation or a part of it that you wish to get rid of. If the person posted something on your timeline, it will stay there. You can always delete the post you don't like. The person will no longer be able to post new messages on your wall after blocking.

Unblocking on FB

If you wish to remove someone from your blocked list, you need to select the 'Privacy Settings' option in the Account drop down menu. Here, select the 'Edit your lists' in the 'Block Lists' section. Then, click on 'Remove' that is present next to the name of the individual you wish to unblock. It is that simple

Anyone that you block on FB can no longer view your profile, friends list, photos, etc. The same thing will happen on your side, as you too will no longer be able to view the person's personal details. No longer will there be any kind of direct interaction between you and the blocked user.
Advertisement