announcement

Share the latest technology trends or photos of gadgets you love.

How to Block Someone on Facebook

How to Block Someone on Facebook

So, you want to block someone on facebook? It's pretty simple!
Amruta Deshpande
Facebook is the most popular social networking site with millions of users from different parts of the world registered. It is a great way to stay connected with friends. But with so many users, you might sometime feel the need to block an annoying person. Facebook allows you to stop these stalkers and maintain your privacy with the block feature.
Blocking someone on Facebook is not very difficult. If you are a new user and are finding it difficult to locate the Block option, follow these simple steps:
Step 1
The first step is to sign in to your personal Facebook account with your username and password.
Step 2
Once you have logged in, you will be able to see the Accounts link in the upper right corner of your home page. When you click on this link a little drop down menu appears.
Step 3
The drop down menu will show several options such as Edit friends, Account settings, Privacy settings, Application settings and Help center. Select the Accounts Settings option. This will take you to the settings page.
Step 4
This page will again have several options. Click on the manage link of the Privacy option. You will be directed to another page. Scroll down to the bottom of this page. Click on the Edit your list link under the Block list option.
Step 5
Now, enter the name of the person you want to block in the box provided. You can also enter the email address of the person, provided you know the exact address they have associated with their Facebook account.
Step 6
Once you have entered the name of the person you intend to block, hit the Block this user button. If there is more than one user with the same name you provided, a list with all possible matches will be shown. Select the right user and hit Block.
You have successfully blocked the person on Facebook and he/she will no longer be able to interact with you through Facebook. Not only will he/she disappear from your friends list, but he/she will no longer be able to find you in a Facebook search. However, always remember that this application is mutual making both you invisible to each other.
But what if you wish to unblock this user sometime later? Well, if at any time you wish to do so, return to the settings page and hit the Remove link next to the blocked person and he/she will be back in your friends list.
Blocking people on Facebook can also be done by clicking the Report/Block this Person link which is present on the bottom of their profile page. Check the Block this person option from the drop down box that appears and hit Submit.