How to Untag Photos on Facebook?

How to Untag Photos on Facebook?

If you're wondering how to untag photos on Facebook, then just read the article below, which provides you with some relevant information.
Facebook is the most popular social networking website out there today, and it has more than 600 million members from all around the world. One of its most useful aspects is the ability to upload tons of images from your everyday life, and these pictures can be viewed by all the friends that you have connected with, and this is the reason why someone would want to untag themselves. No matter how much you argue and say that this is a lack of privacy, the fact is that millions of people do this consciously and wish for their pictures to be seen by one and all. This article will teach you how to untag photos on Facebook.

Tagging someone on Facebook means that you have uploaded an image, and then you specify the names of the people who are present in the image and link the image to their profiles. This image is not added to their picture library and it shows up on the newsfeed of all their friends as well. This is exactly what makes Facebook so popular, since the whole process is an intertwined 'social network'. This is all well and good when you upload pictures and tag your friends and your friends tag pictures of you that have your consent. Sometimes though, there are some unsavory images that people upload, and for some reason or the other, you do not want the world to see you in that picture. If you can coerce your friend to delete the picture it is fine, but if not, then you can still untag yourself.

Procedure

The steps are very simple, and any user will be able to carry out this with ease. You must remember that this process will only stop the picture from appearing in your photo library. The image will still be present on their profile, and if you want it deleted completely, then you need to get your friend to do so. In the meantime, follow these steps.
  • Go to the Facebook website first and log in to your profile and go to your homepage.
  • Now, visit your own profile by either clicking on the Profile tab on top, or by clicking on your name anywhere on your homepage.
  • Now, go to the option View Photos of Me and open the image in which you wish to untag yourself.
  • Under the image you will see your name, and next to that you will see the option Remove Tag.
  • Click on this to untag yourself and the process will be completed.
There are some quirky rules that Facebook has about the whole tagging and untagging business, but you can go to Account Settings and then Privacy Settings on the top right corner of your homepage and alter settings as you see fit.

You can also untag yourself from a message. This is useful when a friend of yours tags you on his/her statuses or other messages and you wish to remove your tag from the message. If you do not do so, then you will keep getting notifications in your inbox every time someone else who is also tagged in the message comments on it. All you need to do is go to the Settings tab on the top right corner and uncheck the email inbox for Comments on a post I was tagged in. We hope this information was useful to you in some way.

This method works on the iPhone, or any other smartphone or your computer may come in handy at some point or the other. Keep these steps in mind the next time you are tagged in pictures that you do not want all your friends to see.
Advertisement